History: Websites

The University of Virginia's American Slave Narratives is a composite of over 2300 interviews conducted between 1936 to 1938. The interviews are categorized by the interviewee and provided related readings for information on slavery in America.

Hosted by the University of North Carolina, DocSouth provides online access to texts, images, and audio files related to the American South's history, changes, and development. The site has 14 themes within the American South and collections with resources related to that theme including oral histories and slave narratives.

North by South provides research and resources about African American migrations within America, for example leaving Charleston, SC for Harlem. There is information about African American education, health care, folk art, and music during migrations. There are also links to prominent people in these movements and places.

This website provides an overview history of Africa from its pre-history to modern independence from colonization. Search by regions in Africa or by time period. The links on the left provide the topics to start with and the link on the left provide in-depth specifics, for example: Select "Slavery" from the left and you will be able to view information on the "Roots of Slavery" and "African Slave Owners" on the right-hand side.

This research site run by the Library of Congress has overview information on world nations including historical backgrounds. They were originally in print format but have since been put online as part of the Federal Research Division's Country Studies Program.

This website breaks down topics in World History by Region and Time Period. Selecting a region or time period will list results about specific sub-topics and areas. If you are looking for sources related to specific part of history, check out this site.

Hosted by Fordham University, the Internet Ancient History Sourcebook contains full text of translated ancient works from Mesopotamia, Egypt, Israel, Greece, Rome, and others. They provide resources on studying Ancient History in addition to primary sources from that time. They also include guides to various time periods, themes, and subjects that fall into Ancient History.

This archive of primary documents includes hundreds of transcribed documents divided into sections such as diaries, conventions, the maritime war, and the medical front. The photograph archive contains over 1800 photos.

More than 7,000 biographies. Searchable and browsable.

This site, made available by A&E Television Networks/The History Channel,
provides access to articles on historical topics, explores History Channel shows providing videos and full episodes, images, speeches and more.

This section of the History Matters website "...helps students and teachers make effective use of primary sources. 'Making Sense of Documents' provide strategies for analyzing online primary materials, with interactive exercises and a guide to traditional and online sources. 'Scholars in Action' segments show how scholars puzzle out the meaning of different kinds of primary sources, allowing you to try to make sense of a document yourself then providing audio clips in which leading scholars interpret the document and discuss strategies for overall analysis." (site)

HistoryWorld contains separate 300 historical articles and approximately 10,000 searchable timeline events within its unique database. Article pages are listed alphabetically but may also be searched in the main search bar. Article pages also provide information on how to properly cite the website.

The Internet Archive is a non-profit site that strives to provide an internet archive and library with the purpose of offering access for users to historical collections in digital format. Using the "Wayback Machine, users can type in a website's URL and see it in multiple forms depending on the date.

As a site which contains "collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts," this is great for finding primary historical resources. The three primary historical sourcebooks cover Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History Additional historical sourcebooks are organized by theme. In addition to full-text historical documents, one can find links to secondary articles, reviews, discussions, and more Web sites.

"A project of the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning of the City University of New York and the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, this site serves as a gateway to web resources and offers unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence." (site)

A gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Primary sources include images, moving images, sound recordings, music, and text. There are more than 9 million items to be found in 100 collections.

The University of Pittsburgh hosts an online collection of over 18,000 photographs of Pittsburgh from the 1800's-1900's. Search the image collections using keywords like places and people or browse collection by time, location, and themes.

This state-level organization provides research resources related to Pennsylvania history. On their website they offer archival collections, land records, and research articles.