Skip to Main Content
Reading & Critiquing Research Articles
The articles below provide tips for reading and critiquing nursing and medical journal articles.
Nursing Research Critiques
This ebook provides nursing students with a step-by-step guide to critically analyze evidence from research studies. The introduction
provides an overview of the critique template that is applied throughout the book. The remainder of the text includes reprints of quantitative
studies followed by a critique of each.
Use the links below to see an example article and its corresponding critique.
This video explains how to identify components of scholarly articles so that you can navigate them more efficiently.
Recommended Nursing & Medical Databases
The premium research databases listed below allow you to access millions of articles from reputable publications such as nursing and medical journals and encyclopedias. You can save, print, email, and generate citations for documents in these databases.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1300 journals and is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.
Recommended Nursing Journal: Teaching and Learning in Nursing
Click Recommended Nursing Journal to search within the journal Teaching and Learning in Nursing. Use the SEARCH IN THIS JOURNAL box under the journal name, NOT the search symbol at the top of the page. Searching within this journal may provide very few search results. To broaden your search, click on the CINAHL Complete link above.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Search academic journals focusing on medical disciplines.
Nursing & Allied Health: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession. Includes a Topic Finder feature.
Health & Medicine: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Access selected full text articles in medicine, nursing, the health care system, and much more.
Additional Nursing Resources from CCAC Library
Nursing: Library Resources
Use this guide for all of your nursing information needs including additional databases, books, eBooks, streaming videos and websites.
Limiting Your Search
Consider limiting results:
- peer-reviewed (usually on initial search page or in advanced search)
- source or document type (such as academic journal article)
- publication date
- any author is nurse
Online Nursing Video Collection
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021