Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this guide for all of your Philosophy information needs. Search the Library Resources below for books, eBooks, articles, and streaming videos. Use the tabs above to explore web sites and use citation tools.
image from Wikimedia Commons: Political Philosophers Left to Right: Plato, Aristotle, Thomas Aquinas, René Descartes, David Hume, Immanuel Kant, G.W.F. Hegel, Friedrich Nietzsche, Gottlob Frege and Edmund Husserl
Find Books & eBooks
Search for books and movies in CCAC's libraries. We also have an advanced search screen. Show me how
Use the "Place Hold" feature to have items owned by another campus sent to your campus. This process can take 3 or 4 business days. Show me how
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
Find Articles in Databases
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
Magazine & Journal Articles
Reference & Overview Articles
Find Streaming Videos
Films on Demand - Philosophy & Religion
his wide-ranging collection covers the fundamental concepts of reality, epistemology, and value as well as the contrasting narratives, rituals, and beliefs of the world’s religions.
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Watch award winning documentaries and classic films in all subjects. To view Kanopy videos, you will need to create an account on the Kanopy site, but will then have unlimited access to the collection.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Sites to Get Started
The following sites have been selected and evaluated by a CCAC librarian.
Search for fallacies by name, from the alphabetical index in the left-hand frame, or by type using the Taxonomy of Fallacies link. A typical entry includes other names for the fallacy, type, examples and explanations.
Philosophical Terms and Methods
New York University Associate Professor James Pryor defines philosophical argument and presents useful information on argument development.
Especially helpful for beginning students, this website contains a 1,000-word dictionary, a survey of the history of Western philosophy, separate pages on major philosophers, and an introduction to logic.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This scholarly encyclopedia is a dynamic, open source reference work from the Metaphysical Research Lab at the Center of the Study of Language and Information at Stanford University. “All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public” (Site).
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021