Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Psychology & Mental Health
Use this guide for information on Psychology & Mental Health topics. Search the Library Resources below for books, eBooks, articles, and streaming videos. Use the tabs above to explore web sites and use citation tools.
Image from Google Books.
Find Books & eBooks
Search for books and movies in CCAC's libraries. We also have an advanced search screen. Show me how
Use the "Place Hold" feature to have items owned by another campus sent to your campus. This process can take 3 or 4 business days. Show me how
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
Find Articles in Databases
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
Magazine & Journal Articles
Reference & Overview Articles
Find Streaming Videos
Films On Demand - Psychology
The Psychology collection includes "reviews of classic studies; overviews of foundational and contemporary theories; case studies of psychological disorders; instructional titles on research methods and statistics; interviews with prominent psychologists; documentaries on topics such as personality, sexuality, aging, happiness, and intelligence; and more."
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Watch award winning documentaries and classic films in all subjects. To view Kanopy videos, you will need to create an account on the Kanopy site, but will then have unlimited access to the collection.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Sites to Get Started
The following sites have been selected and evaluated by a CCAC librarian.
American Psychological Association
Site is oriented to professional psychologists, however, there are resources that are valuable to undergraduates. Presents full text articles on topics of current interest. The section designed for students includes information about graduate school, financial aid, and careers related to psychology. The section designed for the public has links to articles on popular subjects such as AIDS, anger, depression, disabilities, minorities and violence.
National Institute of Mental Health
Contains information for both researchers and consumers on mental health disorders including basic brochures and other publications, statistics, multimedia resources, current news, clinical trials information, and more.
MedlinePlus - Mental Health
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus is updated daily and offers extensive information on over 600 diseases and conditions. Topics covered include an overview, clinical trials, diagnosis & symptoms, treatment, nutrition, coping, clinical trials, specific conditions and more.
Current Topics in Psychology
This directory is a well-organized, quick reference collection of articles, Web sites, and research tools. The page is divided between a section listing more comprehensive resources (Web of Addiction, PsychCrawler, Exploratorium's Memory, etc.) and a section of links to more specific topics (articles on ergonomics, Internet addiction, etc.). Maintained by Dr. Michael Fenichel, a clinical psychologist.
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Information at this site is provided as a public service to aid in the treatment of developmental, behavioral and mental disorders that affect an estimated 7 to 12 million juveniles in the Unites States.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021