Access resources for your PTA assignments:
PTJ: Physical Therapy Journal
other scholarly journals & databases
eBooks
AnatomyTV
streaming videos
Physical Therapy Journals
PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal
Article Databases
The research databases below contain thousands of articles in hundreds of nursing, allied health and medical journals.
OneSearch
OneSearch will give you results from our 100+ databases - all subjects, all formats.
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
 |
Scholarly Article Tips
from Vanderbilt University
Is it scholarly?
The publication should be a scholarly journal not a newspaper or popular magazine.
The authors are scholars or professionals in the field and are normally affiliated with an educational institution or organization.
The article should have an abstract and reference list.
Clues from the abstract or text?
Look for a phrases like “this study examines…” or “we did research to find…”
This indicates that the author(s) conducted the research.
A review of the abstract and text of an article will provide important information of assistance in identifying it as a research article.
Research articles follow a specific format and are organized into standard sections. Skim the abstract and article for the following sections:
Introduction
Participants
Objectives
Methods
Discussion
Conclusion
References
Letters to the editor
News articles
Literature reviews
Editorials & opinion pieces
Information articles
Care plans
eBooks: Overviews & Anatomy
Harvard Medical School Health Topics A-Z
In-depth descriptions of the most common diseases, symptoms, procedures, and tests written by Harvard Medical School faculty members.
Magill's Medical Guide
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format.
Principles of Anatomy by
This edition includes 172 entries arranged in A to Z order to help make finding a topic of interest easy. Entries related to basic principles and concepts include Fields of Study related to the topic; an Abstract that provides a brief, concrete summary of the topic; Key Concepts important to a proper understanding of the topic; a detailed Essay that gives an explanation of the background and significance.
eBooks: PTA
The titles below are just a sample of the PTA eBooks available. You can search the full EBSCO eBook collection for others on any fitness based topic.
Physical Exercises by
When people think about physical exercise, they imagine athletic competitions and sculpted bodies. More than simply a way to achieve the best performance or a beautiful shape, physical exercise can promote and reestablish health. Physical therapy is a specific area of the health sciences specialised in treating and recovering the human body impaired by illness, an accident or surgeries. In order to restore the human body's functionality, physical therapy has several different techniques and resources that include physical exercises as an important tool used in rehabilitation programs. Throughout this book, you will encounter different physical exercises used in physical therapy to evaluate and establish rehabilitation programs. These are aimed at revitalising the body's function in five different areas: cardiorespiratory, orthopedics, neurology, gynecology and gerontology. In the cardiorespiratory section, you will understand the importance of oxygen provision during postural challenges a dynamic exercises. In addition, this same section explains the beneficial effects of physical exercises for patients with coronary artery disease and how physical exercises are used for pulmonary rehabilitation. The orthopedics section has very important concepts about how physical exercises are used to treat patellofemoral pain, knee osteoarthritis and shoulder dysfunctions. The neurology section brings actual concepts about the use of gait training for neurological rehabilitation; it explains the importance of strength training applied to neurorehabilitation and how physical exercises can be used to treat children with cerebral palsy. The gerontology section demonstrates the importance of motivation and adherence to physical exercises by elderly adults and also their dropout. Finally, the gynecology section brings concepts and physical exercises to evaluate and rehabilitate the pelvic floor muscles. It also brings to light the effects of physical activity on these muscles in pregnant women. After reading this book, you will increase your knowledge about how physical exercise can assess, treat and promote health for the life of your patients and your own life.
Pocket Notes for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
A clinical guide for physical therapist assistant students and practicing physical therapist assistants, Pocket Notes for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Second Edition provides quick, convenient access to information on normal values, assessment techniques, treatment suggestions, pharmacology, and pathology descriptions.New content includes an expansion of gait topics, as well as the inclusion hydrotherapy/aquatic therapy, interferential current, mechanical spinal traction, and microelectrical neuromuscular stimulation. Also, information about balance and breathing activities has been added. With revised and updated information and references throughout, the Second Edition is a praised as a recommended resource for physical therapist assistant students and clinicians.
Documentation for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
Build your documentation skills--and your confidence. Step by step, this text/workbook introduces you to the importance of documentation and shows you how to develop and write a proper and defensible note. You'll learn how to provide the proper documentation to assure all forms of reimbursement (including third party) for your services. You'll also explore issues of patient confidentiality, HIPAA requirements, and the ever-increasing demands of legal and ethical practice in a litigious society.
Clinical Decision Making for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
Prepare for the clinic with confidence! Here's the perfect go-to text for developing the critical-thinking and clinical-decision making skills you need to transition from the classroom to the clinic--specifically designed for PTAs. From common to complex, thirteen real-life case studies represent a variety of practice settings and age groups. Identify, research, and assess the pathologies and possible treatments. Photographs of real therapists working with their patients bring concepts to life. Reviewed by 16 PT and PTA experts, this comprehensive resource ensures you are prepared to confidently make sound clinical decisions. Perfect as a stand-alone text or integrated throughout the curriculum!
Muscle Testing : A Concise Manual by
Muscle testing – A Concise Manual, provides a reference for understanding how structure relates to function, and how by knowing function we can learn structural configurations. The book summarises the key anatomical facts and figures, give methods for muscle testing by several techniques, and provides clinically useful information to supplement the tests.
Agility in Sport by
This book introduces a new view of agility theory, given recent serious discussion concerning the methods of open-loop skills improvement. It offers experimental research results and theoretical knowledge on both reactive and running types of agility. The book also details a number of agility training methods and exercises.
Freedom to Move by
Freedom to Move is an evidence informed practical resource which provides movement therapists of all disciplines with an exercise blueprint for rehabilitating spinal pain and many related 'injuries'.In essence, Freedom to Move describes what goes wrong in the spine and what to do about it. It integrates the applicable contemporary neuroscience around spinal movement and pain with the clinical evidence and understanding gained from the author's enquiring practice, and her exploration of various movement approaches and their contribution - or otherwise, to spinal well-being.It examines the relationship between healthy torso structure and functional control and describes and explains the author's model of spinal dysfunction - the remediation of which forms the basis of the author's model of care for the spine, The Key Approach®.The book's main focus is on a practical, therapeutic exercise/movement approach which addresses the common movement faults and dysfunctions observed in people with spinal pain and stiffness.In particular, the Fundamental Patterns of control are introduced as important, innate 'key' movements which naturally provide the sound foundations necessary for a healthy spine - but which have commonly been 'lost' in the movement repertoire of people with spinal pain syndromes.These are re-established and reincorporated into various poses, movements and stretches by way of specifically directed mindful movement explorations. The client is helped to regain more optimal function and move out of pain - with more freedom.The approach is applicable within all industry models of teaching therapeutic movement: in the rehabilitation of spinal pain within physiotherapy, Pilates and Yoga; and in the fitness industry, for injury prevention, health promotion and optimising spinal health in exercise programmes in general.
Spinal Assymetry and Scoliosis by
Dr Martin's book provides a theoretical framework and specific progressive exercises in the Pilates environment in their work with those individuals who have asymmetries of the spine, ribcage and pelvis associated with conditions such as scoliosis. This book helps Pilates instructors who want to move beyond basic certification to work safely and effectively with those who have structural and functional asymmetries.The many musculoskeletal ramifications of spinal asymmetry are explained, based on relevant anatomy and current theories of causes of deformity, thus throwing light on an often confusing topic. A developed framework offers practical solutions that will further the body of knowledge in the specialized education of Pilates instructors by enabling them to learn a safe and systematic method of instructing those with scoliosis.This framework helps instructors administer individualized Pilates exercise progressions. These comprise: creating a client profile for the individual; developing concepts and considerations for effective exercise delivery and execution; and presentation of those exercise progressions.In addition, two important aspects not yet found within the Pilates field are addressed. The first is the importance of the significant role, outlining the scope of practice of the Pilates instructor in the care of those with spinal asymmetries. And secondly is to identify separate approaches necessary for differing populations at distinct times of life. Stages such as youth, and adult each require a certain approach. The decades of young adult, mid-life, and elder years present special challenges due to the co-morbidities associated with the adult with scoliosis.
Books: PTA
The titles below are just a sample of the PRINT books available in the Library; many are on Reserve at the Circulation Desk.
Saunders Q&A Review for the Physical Therapist Assistant Board Examination by
With more than 1,000 study and review questions, Saunders Q&A Review for the Physical Therapist Assistant Board Examination provides the practice you need to succeed on the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for Physical Therapist Assistants. Questions simulate the format of the NPTE, in terms of content and the proportional breakdown of topics, and include rationales along with page references to physical therapy textbooks. Written by physical therapy specialist Brad Fortinberry, this book also includes a companion website offering unlimited test-taking practice plus instant feedback. 1,385 multiple-choice questions reflect the format, content, and proportional question breakdown of the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) as well as the terminology from the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice.
Physical Therapist Assistant Exam by
Practical Spelling features key rules of spelling, hundreds of practice exercises, and advice on how to use individual learning styles and strengths to remember difficult words.
Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapist Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants by
This comprehensive text will provide a valuable resource throughout the physical therapist assistant's education and training throughout the entire duration of the PTA program.
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
AnatomyTV
Films On Demand
Films On Demand has a strong streaming video collection that supports the career of a physical therapist assistant as well as videos that supplement course work, including many A&P videos:
