Working one-on-one with a tutor can help improve your understanding of the material being covered in your courses. See the West Hills Center tutoring schedule for a list of subject areas and availability.
These are a few of the library's research databases available to help you locate articles from reference and periodical sources. You can see all of our research databases on our A-Z page where you have the ability to sort them by subject area.
Provides a comprehensive range of information in one complete resource—subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, timelines. Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
Provides full text for nearly 1,750 publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of 440,207 photos, maps & flags. Provided by EBSCOhost.
An online "works cited" and "reference list" tool for both MLA and APA citation styles. This tool walks students through the process of documenting elements of a citation and allows students to generate MLA and APA bibliographies. Students can create folders and store citations for multiple projects. Provided by NoodleTools. PDF Guide | Show me how
Resources for finding & researching controversial topics
An excellent source for learning about current issues. Use this to find background information as well as articles from news, magazine and journal sources. It's also an excellent source for pro/con articles.
CQ publishes a new report every couple of weeks on a current topic of interest. Each report is about 25 pages in length and provides background information, statistics, a pro/con section, and a bibliography for further research.
Use this source to browse for and learn about current controversial topics. For each topic, you can gather background information, see pro/con writings, find statistics, and explore a bibliography of additional sources.