Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books & eBooks
Search for books and movies in CCAC's libraries. We also have an advanced search screen. Show me how
Use the "Place Hold" feature to have items owned by another campus sent to your campus. This process can take 3 or 4 business days. Show me how
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
PrepSTEP is an online tool that includes tutorials, practice tests, e-books and articles to help students achieve academic success.
Find Articles in Databases
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
Magazine & Journal Articles
Reference & Overview Articles
Find Streaming Videos
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Watch Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries relevant to every subject.
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Watch award winning documentaries and classic films in all subjects. To view Kanopy videos, you will need to create an account on the Kanopy site, but will then have unlimited access to the collection.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Sites to Get Started
The following sites have been selected and evaluated by a CCAC librarian.
This site is a global news service operated by AAAS (The American Association for the Advancement of Science), which provides a central place through which science news can be brought to the media. The news is arranged by science disciplines.
Public Library of Science
This site offers access to the latest scientific research via number of high quality open access journals, such as PLOS Biology. The journals are searchable for articles and back issues are available. Click to "PLOS Journals" on the tab to access a list of the journals by subject.
Science.gov: FirstGov for Science
Provides "public access and a unified search of the government's vast stores of scientific and technical information." (Site). Searches over 1700 Web sites and databases. This site is browsable by topic or searchable by keyword.
A leading online magazine and Web portal providing breaking news in science, technology, and medicine. The articles are submitted by leading universities and researching institutions with links to the institution's home page. Browse by topic or search by keyword.
World of Science
Eric Weisstein's site supplies online encyclopedias in astronomy, physics, chemistry and mathematics, as well as a biography of renowned scientists. Users can find excellent, concise explanations of many scientific concepts, and the site is easy to traverse.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021