LibGuides: Social Issues & Current Events: Library Resources

Find Books & eBooks

Search for books and movies in CCAC's libraries. We also have an advanced search screen. Show me how

Use the "Place Hold" feature to have items owned by another campus sent to your campus. This process can take 3 or 4 business days. Show me how

EBSCO eBooks

Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.

Find Articles in Databases

Magazine & Journal Articles

Reference & Overview Articles

Find Streaming Videos

Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Watch award winning documentaries and classic films in all subjects. To view Kanopy videos, you will need to create an account on the Kanopy site, but will then have unlimited access to the collection.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Watch Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries relevant to every subject.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Top 1000 films used in academic institutions. Full Title List.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
View streaming video documentaries and series from PBS.

sites to get You Started

These sites have been evaluated by a CCAC librarian.

American Civil Liberties Union
The ACLU advocates freedom of speech, equal protection, fair treatment, and right to privacy. Their site provides comprehensive coverage of a variety of social issues including criminal justice, the death penalty, free speech, HIV/AIDS, immigrants' rights, lesbian & gay rights, racial equality, and much more.
The Heritage Foundation
This conservative think tank advocates limited government, individual freedoms, and traditional American values. Their "Research" area covers both foreign and domestic issues, including crime, education, family and marriage, social security, welfare, and much more.
Urban Institute
This nonpartisan group focuses on issues that deal with cities and their residents. Topics covered include "Crime / Justice," "Economy / Taxes," "Health / Healthcare," "Housing," and "Welfare." Each issue has numerous full text research reports, which are browsable by author or topic, and keyword searchable; reports are available as a standard webpage or as PDF documents.
Rand Corporation
Provides research and analysis to a wide variety of social and economic issues, including families, education, health, education, public safety and others.