LibGuides: SUR, Boyce Campus: Library Resources

Article Databases

The research databases below contain thousands of articles in hundreds of nursing, allied health and medical journals.

Nursing & Allied Health: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Search academic journals focusing on medical disciplines.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Search nursing and allied health journals.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Access selected full text articles in medicine, nursing, the health care system, and much more.

OneSearch

OneSearch will give you results from our 100+ databases - all subjects, all formats.

Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.

Advanced Search

Scholarly Article Tips

from Vanderbilt University

Is it scholarly?
The publication should be a scholarly journal not a newspaper or popular magazine.
The authors are scholars or professionals in the field and are normally affiliated with an educational institution or organization.
The article should have an abstract and reference list.

Clues from the abstract or text?
Look for a phrases like “this study examines…” or “we did research to find…”
This indicates that the author(s) conducted the research.
A review of the abstract and text of an article will provide important information of assistance in identifying it as a research article.

Research Article Tips

Research articles follow a specific format and are organized into standard sections. Skim the abstract and article for the following sections:

Introduction

Participants

Objectives

Methods

Discussion

Conclusion

References

Sample Article

eBooks: Overviews & Anatomy

Surgical Anatomy and Physiology for the Surgical Technologist by Kevin B. Frey Provides the basic concepts of A&P and applies them to practical surgery. Throughout the book, examples show how the anatomy and physiology of a particular body system or organ relates to a surgical procedure.
Call Number: QM 531 .F77 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Harvard Medical School Health Topics A-Z In-depth descriptions of the most common diseases, symptoms, procedures, and tests written by Harvard Medical School faculty members.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Human Diseases and Conditions Offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Magill's Medical Guide Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Principles of Anatomy by Salem Press This edition includes 172 entries arranged in A to Z order to help make finding a topic of interest easy. Entries related to basic principles and concepts include Fields of Study related to the topic; an Abstract that provides a brief, concrete summary of the topic; Key Concepts important to a proper understanding of the topic; a detailed Essay that gives an explanation of the background and significance.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020

Books: SUR

The titles below are just a sample of the SUR books available. You can search the full EBSCO eBook collection or the Library catalog for print books.

Surgical Technology, 8th ed by Joanna Kotcher Fuller
Call Number: Reserve: RD 32.3 .F84 2022
Publication Date: 2021
Prepare to deliver the best patient care before, during, and after surgery with this approachable guide to surgical skills and operating room procedures. In addition to covering all the content in the AST Core Curriculum, this one-of-a-kind text offers a unique mentoring approach and engaging learning features that make even complex skills and techniques easy to understand.
Surgical Technology, 7th ed by Joanna Kotcher Fuller
Call Number: RD 32.3 .F84 2018
Publication Date: 2017
Provides comprehensive coverage of all the updated AST Core Curriculum components - including all aspects of health care sciences; technological sciences; patient care concepts; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care; surgical procedures; and professional practice.
Surgical Technology for the Surgical Technologist by Association of Surgical Technologists
Call Number: RD 32.3 .S866 2018
Publication Date: 2017
Delivers the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of over 200 essential surgical procedures.
Differentiating Surgical Instruments by Colleen J. Rutherford
Call Number: RD 71 .R97 2020
Publication Date: 2019
This quick reference, spiral-bound text offers a close-up look at more than 800 cutting, clamping, grasping, retracting, and other instruments, along with brief descriptions.
Surgical Equipment and Supplies by Colleen J. Rutherford
Call Number: RD 32 .R9751 2016
Publication Date: 2016
This spiral-bound text/atlas delivers over 725 full-color photographs, detailed specifications, and comprehensive coverage you won't find anywhere else.
Techniques and Principles for the Operating Room by Matthew Porteous
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Reflecting the recent dramatic advances in orthopedic trauma care and orthopedic implants, this highly practical surgical guide provides step-by-step descriptions of new, state-of-the-art techniques as well as in-depth information on classic, time-tested methods.
Pharmacology for the Surgical Technologist by Katherine Snyder
Call Number: RM 300 .S675 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Covers everything from basic conversions, terminology, and calculations to anesthesia and medications used for perioperative care.
Pocket Guide to the Operating Room by Maxine A. Goldman
Call Number: RD 32.3 .G65 2020
Publication Date: 2019
This pocket guide presents more than 500 surgical procedures! For each procedure, you'll find a definition, discussion, description of the surgery, preparation of the patient, skin preparation, draping technique, instrumentation, supplies, and special notes pertinent to that surgery.
Operating Room Skills by Nancy Dankanich
Call Number: RD 32.3 .D36 2020
Publication Date: 2019
Helps students develop the essential skills needed to perform safely and competently in the operating room.

EBSCO eBooks

Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.

Our eBook collection has many titles that cover surgical technology topics! ebook page samples

Anatomy TV: 3D Atlas / Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new window
Manipulate highly detailed 3D anatomical models that have many interactive functions; rotate and tip the models; add or remove layers of anatomy from bone to skin. View narrated animations, and a comprehensive atlas of micro-anatomy, histology and dissection images. Quick Help Guide | Module Links

Films On Demand

Films On Demand has a strong collection of streaming videos that support the career of a surgical technician as well as videos that supplement course work.