Includes overview and news articles, primary sources, images, videos and timelines.
Books & eBooks
1968 by Tarig AliTariq Ali brings vividly to life the day-by-day, minute-by-minute events that took place throughout the world in this pivotal year: from the assassinations of Martin Luther King and Bobby Kennedy to the Paris barricades and the brutal end of the Prague spring to the worldwide anti-war movements here is what really happened in the word and art of the people who were there.
Call Number: BOYCE
American Reckoning by Christian G. AppyExamines the relationship between the war's realities and myths and its impact on the US's national identity, conscience, pride, shame, popular culture and postwar foreign policy. Drawing on a vast variety of sources from movies, songs and novels to official documents, media coverage and contemporary commentary, Appy offers an original interpretation of the war.
Call Number: NORTH
An American Requiem by James CarrollJoe Carroll was an Air Force lieutenant general who chose Vietnamese targets for American bombs. Joe's son James began adulthood by fulfilling his father's abandoned dream of joining the priesthood. But soon a father's hopes for his son--and a son's peace with his father--were ruined, yet another casualty of a war that tore apart so many families along generational lines.
Call Number: ALLEGHENY & BOYCE
Beyond Combat by Heather Marie SturBeyond Combat investigates how the Vietnam War both reinforced and challenged the gender roles that were key components of American Cold War ideology. Refocusing attention onto women and gender paints a more complex and accurate picture of the war's far-reaching impact beyond the battlefields.
Call Number: BOYCE
A Bright Shining Lie by Neil SheehanIn this monument of history and biography that was awarded the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction, a renowned journalist tells the story of John Vann—"the one irreplaceable American in Vietnam"—and of the tragedy that destroyed a country and squandered so much of America's young manhood and resources.
Enduring Vietnam by James WrightEnduring Vietnam recounts the experiences of the young Americans who fought in Vietnam and of families who grieved those who did not return. James Wright's Enduring Vietnam provides an important dimension to the profile of an American generation--and a rich account of an American War.
Call Number: ALLEGHENY & NORTH
Hue 1968 by Mark BowdenHue 1968 is the story of the centerpiece of the Tet Offensive and a turning point in the American War in Vietnam. With unprecedented access to war archives in the U.S. and Vietnam and interviews with participants from both sides, Bowden narrates each stage of this crucial battle through multiple viewpoints.
Call Number: NORTH, ALLEGHENY & SOUTH
In Country by John PradosJohn Prados, one of our leading interpreters of the Vietnam War, opens a window into the visceral reality of those on the ground in Vietnam. His carefully chosen and thoughtfully introduced anthology gathers the voices in narrative and poetry of men and women; Americans and Vietnamese (both of the North and South); officers, enlisted men, and civilians. All the selections feature individuals experiences of war or witnessing specific events and the realities of being caught up in them.
Call Number: ALLEGHENY
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes,Matterhorn is an epic war novel of a young Marine lieutenant, Waino Mellas, and his comrades in Bravo Company, who are dropped into the mountain jungle of Vietnam as boys and forced to fight their way into manhood.
Call Number: NORTH & SOUTH
On Killing by Dave GrossmanLt. Col. Dave Grossman draws unsettling, even sinister parallels between the psychological conditioning required to make soldiers kill in war and the similar effect that videos, films, games and movies have in civilian society.
Resister by Bruce DancisBruce Dancis became the first student at Cornell to defy the draft by tearing up his draft card and soon became a leader of the draft resistance movement. He also turned down a student deferment and refused induction into the armed services. He was the principal organizer of the first mass draft card burning during the Vietnam War, an activist in the Resistance (a nationwide organization against the draft), and a cofounder and president of the Cornell chapter of Students for a Democratic Society.
Call Number: eBook
The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh NguyenThe winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, as well as six other awards,The Sympathizer is the breakthrough novel of the year. With the pace and suspense of a thriller and prose that has been compared to Graham Greene and Saul Bellow,The Sympathizer is a sweeping epic of love and betrayal. The narrator, a communist double agent, is a "man of two minds," a half-French, half-Vietnamese army captain who arranges to come to America after the Fall of Saigon, and while building a new life with other Vietnamese refugees in Los Angeles is secretly reporting back to his communist superiors in Vietnam.The Sympathizer is a blistering exploration of identity and America, a gripping espionage novel, and a powerful story of love and friendship.
The Vietnam War by Geoffrey C. Ward & Ken BurnsNow, continuing in the tradition of their critically acclaimed collaborations, the authors draw on dozens and dozens of interviews in America and Vietnam to give us the perspectives of people involved at all levels of the war: U.S. and Vietnamese soldiers and their families, high-level officials in America and Vietnam, antiwar protestors, POWs, and many more.
The Vietnam War in Context by Dale ScarboroThis book examines how and why the Americans got so involved in Vietnam and with what consequences. It also examines its relationship to the Korean War and to World War Two; and how the Vietnam experience shaped US foreign policy over the following decades and into the present.
From the Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Collection, this includes Vietnam War Records, Military Personnel Records, Health Related Records, Records of Services to Veterans, and Governors' Papers relating to the War.
From the U. S. National Archives, this repository includes a "wealth of records and information documenting the U.S. experience in the Vietnam conflict. These include photographs, textual and electronic records, audiovisual recordings, exhibits, educational resources, articles, blog posts, lectures, and events."
This ten part award winning series by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick tells the epic story of one of the most divisive, consequential and misunderstood events in American history, as it has never before been told on film.
This Academy Award- nominee is a must for all courses dealing with the Vietnam War and its divisive effect on the American people. Its focus is Neil Davis, a news cameraman whose famous combat footage was shown all over the world. As an Australian, he perceived the war from a different perspective than any American journalist.
"April, 1975. During the chaotic final days of the American involvement in the Vietnam War, as the North Vietnamese Army closed in on Saigon, South Vietnamese resistance crumbled. City after city and village after village fell to the North while the U.S. diplomats and military operatives still in the country contemplated withdrawal."
The history of U.S. involvement is told in this 7 part documentary series featuring personal stories from veterans and detailing the battles, strategy, and politics of a war that consumed multiple U.S. Presidents.
Chris Moore hosts this discussion program with a panel of guests who share reflections on the Vietnam War and its influence on their lives. Guests include Tony Accamando from the Friends of Danang, Todd DePastino of the Veterans Breakfast Club and Dr. Nghi Nguyen of the Vietnamese Association of Pittsburgh.