Big Read Book Selection Fall 2014: FAHRENHEIT 451: Websites

This is the official website on Bradbury, maintained by HarperCollins publishers. Includes biography and a list of his books (bibliography), and more.

Site includes a biography, bibliography, and many of his quotes listed by subject.

From IMDb (Internet Movie Database), is a section about Ray Bradbury listing by year all films, TV productions, episodes, plays, screenplays, and shorts.
His biography is included along with photos, and videos taken from various productions.

This online encyclopedia includes entries on science fiction writing, authors, films, comics, games, characters, and themes.

Cliff Notes literature analysis

SparkNotes literature study guide

A project of the Internet Archive the Open Library contains over one million ebooks available for download in various formats. Searchable by title, subject, author, etc.

An ebook store that includes a combination of free titles (most of which are in the public domain) and newer titles that must be purchased.

This interesting site from the University of Wisconsin/Milwaukee Libraries provides a brief historical overview of book burning with many relevant images, quotations, a short bibliography, and a gallery of books burned over the centuries.

From the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum site.

Banned, Burned, Seized, and Censored was a 2012 exhibition at the Harry Ransom Center of the University of Texas at Austin. The exhibition's website focuses on the efforts of John Saxton Sumner as Secretary of the New York Society for the Suppression of Vice in the 1930’s. The site's slideshow presents photographs and documents of the period and a list of recommended books and films.

This Powerpoint presentation (last presentation on the webpage) from Coastal Carolina University Kimbel Library is rich in quotes and images on the issue of censorship and its extreme manifestation, book burning.

This fascinating site is is an online exhibition created by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. From this page you have access to a slideshow of the covers of burned books, a community forum, video of a conversation between the exhibition's curators, a list of authors and works targeted by the Nazis, and various discussions including one titled "Recurring Symbol" focusing on Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury, the Cold War, and more.

"Banned Books Week is the national book community's annual celebration of the freedom to read."