LibGuides: HIS 101: Western Civilization -- 1500: Library Resources

This Course Guide will provide useful resources for your HIS101 assignments. Find:
the textbook
overview sources
article sources
eBooks
course videos
info on scholarly sources
info on primary sources
citation formats

textbook

Western Civilization: a Global & Comparative Approach, v1: To 1715
Kenneth L. Campbell

overview & background sources

Ancient & Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Explore comprehensive coverage of the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Search Encyclopedia Britannica, the world's most comprehensive reference product.
Britannica Original Sources This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Access primary sources, documents and personal accounts covering many subject areas.
World History In Context This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Explore comprehensive contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Discover comprehensive coverage of 15 living religions with links to core overview essays, key primary sources, complete sacred texts and more.

World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set
The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.

article & journal sources

World History: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access journals and magazines with balanced coverage of events in world history.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Show me how
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search journals, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and videos.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Find extensive coverage of world religions, history and philosophy in scholarly journals.

eBooks

EBSCO eBook collection includes hundreds of books on all aspects of Western Civilization - from the political to the social and Mesopotamia to the Roman Republic. Easily search and pull the relevant pages or chapters.

eBooks: EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Discover academic and popular books.

HIS 101: Western Civilization -- 1500: Library Resources

HIS101: Western Civilization -- 1500