Library Resources - HIS 105: US History 1865 - Present - LibGuides at Community College of Allegheny County

This Course Guide will provide useful resources for your HIS105 assignments. Find:
the textbook
overview sources
article sources
eBooks
course videos
info on scholarly sources
info on primary sources
citation formats

textbook

The American Yawp
The American Yawp is a collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for general readers and college-level history courses. Over three hundred academic historians—scholars and experienced college-level instructors—have come together and freely volunteered their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first century readers. The project is freely accessible online at www.AmericanYawp.com, and in addition to providing a peer review of the text, Stanford University Press has partnered with The American Yawp to publish a low-cost print edition. Used in HIS 104 / 105.

overview & background sources

American History Online This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Search comprehensive coverage of 500 years of American political, military, social, and cultural history.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Discover contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
African-American History This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Explore in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to African-American history.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Discover legal materials and primary sources on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Search Encyclopedia Britannica, the world's most comprehensive reference product.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Get started with overview and background articles in every subject. Show me how
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Explore In-depth information on the people, events, and topics of history from mid-15th century to present.

article & journal sources

U.S. History: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals and magazines offering balanced coverage of events in U.S. history.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Show me how
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search journals, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and videos.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Find extensive coverage of world religions, history and philosophy in scholarly journals.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Access journals and magazines pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

eBooks

EBSCO eBook collection includes hundreds of books on all aspects of US History - from Reconstruction and the Industrial Revolution, through the changing politics and society of WWI, WWII, and modern days. Easily search and pull the relevant pages or chapters.

eBooks: EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Discover academic and popular books.

HIS 105: US History 1865 - Present: Library Resources

HIS105: U.S. History 1865 -- Present