Skip to Main Content
Capital & Labor
The making of money pits laborers against the forces of capital as the twentieth century opens. Professor Miller introduces the miner as the quintessential laborer of the period -- working under grinding conditions, organizing into unions, and making a stand against the reigning money man of the day, J. Pierpont Morgan
Ken Burns: The West - "The Grandest Enterprise Under God"
It had taken the bloodshed and sacrifice of the Civil War to reunite the nation, North and South. But when the war was over, Americans set out with equal determination to unite the nation, East and West. To do it, they would build a railroad. Its completion would be one of the greatest technological achievements of the age.
The Gilded Age
This program explores many facets of the Gilded Age, including industrialization and the growth of big business, the urbanization of America, the grueling working conditions many endured, and the influence of Victorian culture on American society.
The Presidents: 1885-1913
This program presents the American presidency of the Gilded Age, an era of unbridled economic growth that saw the completion of Manifest Destiny. It includes Grover Cleveland’s two nonconsecutive terms in office, William McKinley’s assassination,
The American Empire
From the Declaration of Independence at Independence Hall, through to tech solutions of Silicon Valley, America has shaped the world we live in—all the while shaping its own identity through the iconic buildings and structures that chart the nation’s history.
The Progressive Era
This program explores our history and culture during the early 20th century, when a wave of reforms changed our political system and attempted to remedy the social and economic inequities arising from industrialization and urbanization.
America in the 20th Century: The Progressive Era
This program provides an excellent overview of the times, underscoring the importance of women’s suffrage, the Square Deal, the temperance movement, and other signal initiatives. In addition, many of the era’s movers and shakers are spotlighted.
The Presidents: 1913-1945
This program focuses on America’s emergence as a global power during WWI and covers Woodrow Wilson, Warren Harding, Calvin Coolidge, Herbert Hoover, and Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Woodrow Wilson: Parts 1 & 2
American Experience: Woodrow Wilson is a two-part profile of one of the most effective Democrat incumbents of the 20th century -- Woodrow Wilson.
World War I
From the Archduke Franz Ferdinand in Sarajevo to the delegates signing the Versailles Treaty, this program covers the events that set off the war and the war itself.
Blending historical reenactments with archival footage and photos, this sheds light on a long moment in history when the victorious combatants of the Great War created the League of Nations, redrew the map of the modern world, and revenged themselves upon Germany via the Treaty of Versailles.
The Great Depression
From the collapse of the stock market on October 29, 1929—Black Tuesday—to the many federal initiatives designed to revive the faltering U.S. economy, this program offers an insightful overview of life during the Great Depression.
World War II
This program covers World War II from the invasion of Poland, soon after dawn on September 1, 1939, to the Nuremberg war trials and the hanging of the convicted Nazi war criminals.
The Cold War
This two-part series looks closely at the American and Soviet stratergies of propaganda and proxy wars over four decades of the Cold War struggle for dominance.
The Vietnam War: Things FAll Apart (Jan - July 1968)
On the Tet holiday, North Vietnamese and Viet Cong forces launch attacks on cities and military bases throughout the South, suffering devastating losses but casting doubt on Johnson’s promise that there is “light at the end of the tunnel.”
The Presidents: 1945-1977
This program covers the period in American history presided over by Harry Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard Nixon, and Gerald Ford.
Eyes on the Prize: Awakenings 1954 - 1956
Individual acts of courage inspire black Southerners to fight for their rights: Mose Wright testifies against the white men who murdered young Emmett Till, and Rosa Parks refuses to give up her bus seat to a white man in Montgomery, Alabama.
Nixon - Part 3
Documents the unraveling of Nixon’s presidency, from his landslide victory in the election of 1972 to his departure from the White House less than two years later.
The Presidents: 1977 - 2004
Running through the 2004 presidential campaign, this program examines the new world order shaped by the demise of the Soviet Union and the rise of global terrorism.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Watch Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries relevant to every subject.
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Watch award winning documentaries and classic films in all subjects. To view Kanopy videos, you will need to create an account on the Kanopy site, but will then have unlimited access to the collection.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
View streaming video documentaries and series from PBS.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021