LibGuides: Multimedia Communication: Multimedia Resources

AR & VR

Augmented Reality by Jon Peddie
This book provides an in-depth exploration of the field of augmented reality (AR) in its entirety and sets out to distinguish AR from other inter-related technologies like virtual reality (VR) and mixed reality (MR).
Virtual, Augmented, and Mixed Realities in Education
This book describes the current state of the art of various types of immersive learning: in research, in practice, and in the marketplace.
Aesthetic 3D Lighting
Aesthetic 3D Lighting: History, Theory, and Application delves into the history, the theory, and the practical and aesthetic application of lighting in the fine arts and 3D animation.
Virtual Reality Blueprints : Create Compelling VR Experiences for Mobile and Desktop
If you are a game developer and a VR enthusiast now looking to get stuck into the VR app development process by creating VR apps for different platforms, then this is the book for you. Familiarity with the Unity game engine and the C# language is key to getting the most from this book.
Proteus Paradox
Proteus, the mythical sea god who could alter his appearance at will, embodies one of the promises of online games: the ability to reinvent oneself. Yet inhabitants of virtual worlds rarely achieve this liberty, game researcher Nick Yee contends. Though online games evoke freedom and escapism, Yee shows that virtual spaces perpetuate social norms and stereotypes from the offline world, transform play into labor, and inspire racial scapegoating and superstitious thinking.

Audio Editing

Audacity
An open source tool for recording and editing audio files.
Tutorials for Audacity
The Audacity manual includes a collection of tutorials to help get users up and running with the software.

Gaming Resources

itch.io
itch.io is an online marketplace for game developers to explore games and share or sell their own.
Game Jams on itch.io
Find opportunities for collaborative game development jams on itch.io's platform.

Instructional Design

eLearning Industry
Find current news and articles on the e-learning industry.
Instructional Design Central
Contains information about instructional design models and theory.

Mastering the Instructional Design Process
Call Number: eBook
Mastering the Instructional Design Process provides step-by-step guidance on the design and development of an engaging, effective training program. Coverage includes the full range of design considerations concerning the learners, objectives, setting, and more.
Instructional Design for Learning
Call Number: eBook
This textbook on Instructional Design for Learning is a must for all education and teaching students and specialists. It provides a comprehensive overview about the theoretical foundations of the various models of Instructional Design and Technology from its very beginning to the most recent approaches.
Designing and Developing Robust Instructional Apps
Call Number: eBook
This book considers the planning and specification of instructional apps that blend media (text, images, sound, and moving pictures) and instructional method.
The Instructional Design Knowledge Base
Call Number: eBook
This book provides instructional design professionals and students at all levels with a comprehensive exploration of the theories and research that serve as a foundation for current and emerging ID practice.

Maya

Maya Learning Channel
Looking for video tutorials on Maya? Check out their YouTube channel for videos on modeling, animation, rendering, and more.
Maya Help Center
Audodesk's Maya help center offers tips, tutorials, and resources to help support Maya users with all aspects of the product.

Open Source Resources

Open Source Software for Multimedia

The open source software titles listed below offer excellent media production & editing capabilities and are free to download. Most of them can also be used on a variety of computer systems like Linux, Windows, & Mac.

Scribus
Scribus is a free and open source application for desktop publishing.
Blender
"Blender is the free and open source 3D creation suite. It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline—modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation."
GIMP - GNU Image Manipulation Program
GIMP is a free and open source program for image manipulation.
Inkscape
Inkscape is a free and open source vector graphics editing tool.
OBS Studio
OBS Studio is a free and open source program for video streaming and recording.

Pixel Art

GraphicsGale
Includes "many pixel-art specific features to help you create your work quickly and easily, including palette control, selectively erasing colors, and tools for quickly replacing and trying new colors."
Aseprite
Aseprite is a low cost tool for creating pixel art and animated sprites.
Lopsec Pixel Editor
This free pixel art editor works in your browser and doesn't require any downloads or installs.
Even more pixel art editors!
The Lopsec site maintains a list of even more pixel art editors in case you are looking for an editor with additional features.

Unreal

Unreal Engine
Visit the official Unreal site for downloading and learning about the product's capabilities.
Unreal Engine Documention
This is the official documentation for Unreal Engine. It contains an extensive collection of guides that highlight the features of capabilities of the program.

Selected eBooks from the CCAC Library.

An Introduction to Unreal Engine 4
This book serves as an introduction to the level design process in Unreal Engine 4.
Unreal Engine VR Cookbook
Unreal Engine VR Cookbook is your complete, authoritative guide to building stunning experiences on any Unreal Engine 4-compatible VR hardware.
Unreal Engine Game Development Blueprints
This book is ideal for intermediate level developers who know how to use Unreal Engine and want to go through a series of projects that will further their expertise.
Unreal Engine: Game Development From A to Z
ISBN: 9781787124790
Learn how to develop games and troubleshoot problems in Unreal Engine 4.

Unity

Unity - Download
Download a free version of Unity for students here. Unity offers a "Personal" edition for students that will be suitable for course projects.
Unity Learn
Need Unity support? This site contains tutorials, example projects, complete documentation and more.
Quickstart for Google VR SDK for Unity with Android
This guide shows you how to set up Google VR development with Unity and build a demo Daydream or Cardboard app for Android.
Unity Asset Store
The asset store is a collection of free and premium resources (textures, models, animations, etc.) for Unity projects.

Selected eBooks from the CCAC Library.

Virtual Reality Blueprints
Join the virtual reality revolution by creating immersive 3D games and applications with Cardboard VR, Gear VR, OculusVR, and HTC Vive Key Features Develop robust, immersive VR experiences that are easy on the eye. Code 3D games and applications using Unity 3D game engine. Learn the basic principles of virtual reality applications
Game Development with Unity
This completely updated edition is a tutorial-style guide that provides a complete overview of the Unity editor along with step-by-step projects covering every basic functional aspect, from asset importing to publishing.
Unity Game Development Blueprints
Unity Game Development Blueprints takes readers on an exploration into using Unity to the fullest extent, working on 3D and 2D titles, exploring how to create GUIs, and publishing the game for the world to see.
Unity Game Development Scripting
If you are new to Unity scripting and want to learn simple and modular code and advance your knowledge to the next level, this is the book for you.
Theory of Fun for Game Design
Now in full color, the 10th anniversary edition of this classic book takes you deep into the influences that underlie modern video games, and examines the elements they share with traditional games such as checkers.

Video Editing

DaVinci Resolve
DaVinci Resolve is a feature-filled video editing tool that is available as a free download.
DaVinci Resolve Training
Training videos are available for DaVinci Resolve to get you up and running with the software.