all images found in EBSCOhost's Image Collection
Books @ Boyce
Harvard Medical School Health Topics A-Z
In-depth descriptions of the most common diseases, symptoms, procedures, and tests written by Harvard Medical School faculty members.
Magill's Medical Guide
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format.
Principles of Anatomy by
This edition includes 172 entries arranged in A to Z order to help make finding a topic of interest easy. Entries related to basic principles and concepts include Fields of Study related to the topic; an Abstract that provides a brief, concrete summary of the topic; Key Concepts important to a proper understanding of the topic; a detailed Essay that gives an explanation of the background and significance.
Ultrasound by
Uniquely designed for the Core Exam, Ultrasound: A Core Review covers all key aspects of ultrasound, mimicking the image-rich, multiple-choice format of the actual test. Ideal for residents getting ready for the Core Examination, as well as practitioners taking recertification exams, this one-of-a-kind review follows the structure and content of what you'll encounter on the test, effectively preparing you for Core Exam success!Key Features: Contains 300 image-rich ultrasound questions with answers, explanations, and references. Features high-quality black-and-white, color, and spectral Doppler images throughout. Covers organ-specific ultrasound as well as gynecologic, pregnancy, vascular, musculoskeletal, peritoneal space, retroperitoneum, abdominal wall, chest, and ultrasound-guided procedures. Includes questions on noninterpretive skills such as ultrasound physics and quality and safety. Provides answers and rationales as to why an answer is correct and other choices are incorrect. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Ultrasound Q&A Review for the Boards by
Ultrasound Q&A provides invaluable prep material for board exams! Ultrasound Q&A Review for the Boards by esteemed radiologist and educator Adrian Dawkins and an impressive array of authors, delivers a robust test prep. Employing a self-evaluation approach, the book presents fundamental and practice-oriented concepts in ultrasound. The overall layout mirrors the ABR board exams, with ultrasound images presented in a clinical framework followed by board-format multiple-choice questions. Chapters are generally organized by organ systems and encompass all major areas. The text starts with two chapters covering the first and second trimesters of pregnancy. Subsequent chapters encompass pediatric, renal, hepatobiliary, musculoskeletal, breast, neck, and scrotal ultrasound. The final two chapters on miscellaneous topics and physics ensure a more comprehensive review. Key Features Easy-to-follow cases reinforce common ultrasound concepts, aiding in retention Practical questions and answers inspired by everyday practice include explanations for both the correct and incorrect answers, enhancing comprehension and knowledge References at the end of each chapter provide readers with resources for further exploration This book provides an essential review for radiology trainees prepping for initial board certification and sonographers preparing for the boards. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Radcases Ultrasound Imaging by
...structured using very detailed ultrasonographic images, extensively explained with plain and didactic language. -- European Journal of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Ultrasound Imaging refines your ultrasound diagnostic skills and prepares you for board exams in radiology. Features of Ultrasound Imaging: Covers a wide range of radiological specialties, including renal, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, thyroid, vascular, pediatric, and obstetric Each case includes valuable tips to help readers properly interpret ultrasound images and avoid potential pitfalls Nearly 100 high-quality color illustrations and 350 black and white radiographs demonstrating key ultrasound imaging cases
Review Questions for Ultrasound by
This is a comprehensive, large-format review text with complete answers for the American national examination of the Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (RDMS). It contains 600 questions divided evenly between sections on physics, the abdomen and small parts, and obstetrics and gynecology. The authors combine many years of experience teaching diagnostic ultrasound and provide illustrative scans and drawings for added comprehension.
Ultrasound for Primary Care by
Master high-yield point-of-care ultrasound applications that are targeted specifically to answer questions that arise commonly in the outpatient clinic!
Introduction to Musculoskeletal Ultrasound by
This is the first truly foundational, introductory text designed to help novice practitioners master the fundamentals of musculoskeletal ultrasound. For the new practitioner who has yet to hold a transducer, Dr. Strakowski makes beginning easy and presents detailed step-by-step instructions for operating the equipment, obtaining good images, and successfully interpreting sonograms. Organized for maximum learning value, the book is packed with high-quality color images, tables, and tips to enhance understanding of proper technique and proficiency in musculoskeletal ultrasound. This "quick start" manual provides a simplified approach to essential physics, terminology, instrumentation and image optimization, proper scanning technique, and ergonomics. It is also designed to instruct in the recognition of the normal sonographic appearance of muscle, nerves, and tendons; other tissue, foreign bodies, masses, and artifacts; and use in interventional procedures. The final chapter offers recommendations for getting started in practice. The book's clear, concise presentation will help new practitioners, residents, and medical students take the first steps in using ultrasound in the musculoskeletal clinic with confidence and skill. Key Features: A concise, visual introduction to musculoskeletal ultrasound technical fundamentals, image acquisition, and interpretation Designed to help new practitioners get comfortable quickly with scanning technique and sonographic appearance of musculoskeletal tissue, artifacts, foreign bodies, and masses Covers the basics of ultrasound guidance for injections Packed with nearly 300 high-quality images and "Remember" boxes with clinical pearls
Abbreviated MRI of the Breast by
Although mammography is the primary method used for breast cancer screening, screening mammography is limited especially in women with dense breasts, which includes nearly 50% of all women in the United States. Despite improvements such as digital mammography, computed aided detection, and digital breast tomosynthesis, breast cancer continues to be a leading cause of cancer-related death in women. The recent proliferation of screening breast ultrasound has led to increased health care costs and false positives, with only a slight improvement in breast cancer detection. It is time for a better test. This is the first textbook dedicated to the subject of abbreviated breast MRI (AB-MR). The editors are principal investigators in the first multicenter trial evaluating AB-MR. Each chapter is authored by a leading expert in the field of breast MRI. AB-MR only takes 10 minutes or less to perform, has a comparable cost to screening breast ultrasound, and detects twice as many cancers compared to combined screening with mammography and ultrasound. The improved performance of AB-MR is irrespective of breast density, family history, overall breast cancer risk, and cancer characteristics (e.g. type, staging, invasive or intraductal, primary or recurrent). As such, it will likely become a routine screening tool in women with dense breasts. Key Features A background on breast MR imaging including a review of current research data Fundamental guidelines for implementing, performing, and interpreting AB-MR Technical approaches with proven efficacy, including biopsy methods Accurate interpretation presented in an easy-to-read flow chart format More than 250 high quality color illustrations AB-MR has the potential to help radiologists overcome breast cancer screening limitations and change current standards of practice. This book provides radiologists with the necessary tools to quickly incorporate AB-MR into clinical practice, with an ultimate goal of improved breast cancer detection rates and patient outcomes.
Imaging Anatomy of the Human Brain by
" A] very fine and detailed anatomic atlas... Dr. Borden et al. present an excellent atlas done basically by neuroradiologists' but with a very rich content, which is highly instructive also for neurologists and neurosurgeons, given the major importance of neuroradiological imaging in both practices." --Guilherme Carvalhal Ribas, MD, University of S√ o Paulo Medical School, Neurosurgery " A]n outstanding anatomic reference textbook... do yourself a favor and either purchase this book for your own library or select it for your department' s library. For proof of its value, examine it at the next ASNR or RSNA. You will be convinced. The bulk of the information in the book will never be out of date." --American Journal of Neuroradiology "I was very happy to be able to review this wonderful resource, which is packed with information and illustrations... The illustrations in this atlas are remarkable...I believe this text would be a valuable reference for any neurodiagnostic laboratory as neurodiagnostic techs move into more collaborative roles as part of the patient care team. I would highly recommend it." --Kathy Johnson, R. EEG/EP T., RPSGT, FASET, The Neurodiagnostic Journal "This atlas provides high quality images of the brain and adjacent structures in MR, CT, and neonatal ultrasound. The images are clearly labeled with a thorough index to allow for cross referencing between modalities... the inclusion of higher-end imaging such as fMRI, diffusion tensor imaging (DTI), and CT perfusion makes for a complete neuroanatomy atlas that will be useful for a long time... Weighted Numerical Score: 99 - 5 Stars " -- Joel M Fritz, MD, Baystate Medical Center, Doody's Reviews "This volume presents a detailed and beautifully illustrated tour of neuroanatomy, employing' standard and advanced modalities' Ample use of color illustrates fiber tracts and differentiates different nuclei and other structures. The sections are amply labeled and easy to follow, allowing the reader to become familiar with cognate areas on images of multiple techniques." -- Carl E. Stafstrom, Division of Pediatric Neurology, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Journal of Pediatric Epilepsy An Atlas for the 21st Century The most precise, cutting-edge images of normal cerebral anatomy available today are the centerpiece of this spectacular atlas for clinicians, trainees, and students in the neurologically-based medical and non-medical specialties. Truly an "atlas for the 21st century," this comprehensive visual reference presents a detailed overview of cerebral anatomy acquired through the use of multiple imaging modalities including advanced techniques that allow visualization of structures not possible with conventional MRI or CT. Beautiful color illustrations using 3-D modeling techniques based upon 3D MR volume data sets further enhances understanding of cerebral anatomy and spatial relationships. The anatomy in these color illustrations mirror the black and white anatomic MR images presented in this atlas. Written by two neuroradiologists and an anatomist who are also prominent educators, along with more than a dozen contributors, the atlas begins with a brief introduction to the development, organization, and function of the human brain. What follows is more than 1,000 meticulously presented and labelled images acquired with the full complement of standard and advanced modalities currently used to visualize the human brain and adjacent structures, including MRI, CT, diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) with tractography, functional MRI, CTA, CTV, MRA, MRV, conventional 2-D catheter angiography, 3-D rotational catheter angiography, MR spectroscopy, and ultrasound of the neonatal brain. The vast array of data that these modes of imaging provide o
Atlas of Human Body Ultrasound Scanning by
This atlas describes the diagnosis practice and cases of human body ultrasound. It includes anatomic section, standard scan ultrasonogram of every organ, scanning methods and key points, measurement methods, normal value ranges, and clinical significances of every sections. Providing basic information and fundamental principles of ultrasonic diagnosis, it discusses ultrasound scanning of 14 organs in individual chapters. Each section sonography is accompanied by the scanning method, section structure, measuring method and clinical application. The uniform structure and detailed instructions make this atlas an easy-to-use resource for residents to refer to when they encounter specific ultrasound diagnostic problems.
Echo Made Easy by
Echocardiography (echo), the use of ultrasound to examine the heart, is a powerful and safe technique which is now widely available for cardiovascular investigation. This simple and highly praised text is a practical and clinically useful introduction to the subject. It aims to explain the echo techniques available, outlines what they are most suitable for, and most importantly puts echo into a clinical perspective. This book will be of value to all those who use or request echo, particularly doctors in training and medical students, but also physicians, surgeons, general practitioners, technicians, nurses and paramedics. This Third Edition takes full account of recent advances in echocardiography. A new chapter on performing and reporting an echo has been added. New text has been added on the role of echo in individuals with cancer and in diseases of the aorta. There are updated and expanded sections on pregnancy, the continuity equation, diastolic function, long-axis function and 3-D echo. There are also updates and more detailed sections on the use of echo in emergency situations, in cardiomyopathies and pericardial diseases, in congenital abnormalities and in cardiac resynchronization therapy. Up-to-date published international guidelines have been referenced throughout. New online content is available in the form of echo video images with accompanying self-assessment questions which will allow the reader to carry out self-assessment of knowledge and to see examples of the echos described in the text. This highly-praised book is a simple guide to a difficult subject, written in a conversational and accessible style. It is essential reading for anyone wishing to learn about echo - doctors in training, cardiac technicians, medical students etc. It provides full practical coverage of the clinical aspects of heart disease. It will be of great use to those experienced in echo both as a refresher and an accessible reference source.
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
Journals
Article Databases
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
 |
Scholarly Article Tips
from Vanderbilt University
Is it scholarly?
The publication should be a scholarly journal not a newspaper or popular magazine.
The authors are scholars or professionals in the field and are normally affiliated with an educational institution or organization.
The article should have an abstract and reference list.
Clues from the abstract or text?
Look for a phrases like “this study examines…” or “we did research to find…”
This indicates that the author(s) conducted the research.
A review of the abstract and text of an article will provide important information of assistance in identifying it as a research article.
Comprehensive coverage of many sonography topics; playlists include: Portal Doppler, Renal Doppler, Appendix, Ultrasound Protocols, Vascular, Tutorals and many, many more.
Playlist includes videos on Introduction to Point of Care Ultrasound, Principles & Instrumentation, Pneumothorax, and Lung Ultrasound.
Films On Demand A&P Videos
AnatomyTV
