Evidence Based PracticeEvidence Based Practice is a problem-solving approach to clinical decision-making within a health care organization.
It integrates the three factors into the decision-making process for patient care:
1. Clinical Expertise: the clinician's cumulated experience, education and clinical skills
2. Patient Values & Preferences: the patient's personal preferences, unique concerns, expectations and values
3. Best Research Evidence: found in clinically relevant research that has been conducted using sound methodology
Evidence-Based PracticeBelow are just a few of our books on EBP. Search the catalog or our EBSCO eBook collection for more!
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines.
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice, Fifth Edition by
This new edition of one of the premier references for geriatric nurses in hospital, long-term, and community settings delivers current guidelines, real-life case studies, and evidence-based protocols developed by master educators and practitioners. With a focus on improving quality of care, cost-effectiveness, and outcome, the fifth edition is updated to provide the most current information about care of common clinical conditions and issues in older patients. Several new expert contributors present current guidelines about hip fractures, frailty, perioperative and postoperative care, palliative care, and senior-friendly emergency departments. Additionally, chapters have been reorganized to enhance logical flow of content and easy information retrieval. Protocols, systematically tested by more than 300 participating NICHE (Nurses Improving Care for Health system Elders) hospitals' are organized in a consistent format and include an overview, evidence-based assessment and intervention strategies, and an illustrative case study with discussion. Additionally, protocols are embedded within chapter text, providing the context and detailed evidence for each. Chapter objectives, annotated references, and evidence ratings for each protocol are provided along with resources for additional study. New to the Fifth Edition: Reorganized to enhance logical flow of information and ease of useUpdated and revisedIncludes new contributions from expert educators and practitionersProvides new chapters on perioperative and postoperative care, general surgical care, care of hip fracture, palliative care, and the senior-friendly emergency department Key Features: Includes PowerPoints and a test bank for instructorsDelivers evidence-based, current guidelines and protocols for care of common clinical conditions in the older personIllustrates the application of clinical protocols to real-life practice through case studies and discussionEdited by nationally known geriatric leaders who are endorsed by the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing and NICHE Written for nursing students, nurse leaders, and practitioners at all levels, including those in specialty roles
Evidence-Based Practice in Action by
One of the biggest challenges of evidence-based practice (EBP) is translating knowledge, research, and clinical expertise into action. Failure to execute EBP well is rarely due to lack of information, understanding, or experience; rather, it comes down to lack of tools and practicality for implementing EBP into care. Evidence-Based Practice in Action is a unique, application-oriented EBP resource of the latest Iowa Model Revised: Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Excellence in Health Care. This book offers a detailed plan to guide nurses and healthcare leaders in promoting EBP adoption and implementation. This practical, easy-to-use guide directs healthcare leaders through preparing, implementing, and evaluating any EBP process model and provides tools for topic selection, literature searches, research and evidence review, implementation, and evaluation. The authors provide comprehensive building blocks along with strategies, tools, and tips to guide individuals and teams who make the important day-to-day decisions that ultimately affect patient outcomes. Evidence-Based Practice in Action: Comprehensive Strategies, Tools, and Tips from the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics awarded second place in the 2018 AJN Book of the year award in the Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development.
Evidence-Based Nursing by
Evidence-Based Nursing : The Research Practice Connection Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access text helps students understand research methods, how to appraise and use research evidence in clinical decision-making, and how to fully understand and engage in evidence-based practice. By linking evidence-based practice to recent research in safety and quality programs, it provides timely information in both healthcare and nursing settings.
Introduction to Nursing Research by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Evidence-based practice is the process nurses and other clinicians use to inform their decisions about patient care and delivery. Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition teaches nursing students how to integrate evidence-based practice and research into their work while considering the newest trends and research.Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition emphasizes EBP as a foundation for safe and effective health care. The text focuses on the connection between research and evidence based practice as related to the IOM, Macy report, Carnegie report, and federal health bill as appropriate. In addition, the Fifth Edition also discusses the impact of Magnet hospitals on research utilization, evidence-based practice, and moving evidence into practice. Key Features: Case studies which reflect the application of basic nursing care concepts Evidence-based practice components featuring sentinel events, medication errors, HIPPA, and quality improvement Evidence-based practice research searches compared to research expectationsCoverage of Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA process)Overview of tools such as Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), Transforming care at the Bedside (TCAB) Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Nursing Research by
Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
Named a 2013 Doody's Essential Purchase Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today. New topics include NIH-funded research areas, a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals, addictions care, palliative care, translational science, simulation, trauma care, family-centered care, mild cognitive impairment, active surveillance for cancer care, workplace and empowerment research, nurse engagement, nurse-physician collaboration, CAM and empowerment research, spirituality, synthesis and action research, mixed methods research, systematic review, ethnopharmacology, and more. Key Features: Includes NIH-funded research topics Provides a comprehensive survey of major nursing research journals Adds over 20 new areas of research and updates original entries Written by over 200 nursing research experts Organized alphabetically for easy access to information
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by
Text Taxonomy and diagnostic criteria from the DSM-5 with references for each DSM-5 diagnosis Quality Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) activities with guidelines for attaining the knowledge, skills, and attitudes required to fulfill the initiative's core competencies Therapeutic communication icon that highlights talking points and interventions in the care plans to help students feel more comfortable with patients Homework assignments at the beginning of each chapter to encourage critical reading Emphasis on holistic nursing to emphasize the physical, spiritual, and cultural aspects of psychiatric/mental health nursing Listing of core concepts at the beginning of each chapter with definitions in boxes throughout the text Concept map care plans for all major psychiatric diagnoses Care Plans for clients with DSM-5 diagnoses featuring interventions and rationales for commonly observed nursing diagnoses ANA standards for clinical practice for DSM diagnoses and therapeutic interventions, as well as for aging individuals, bereaved individuals, and victims of abuse and neglect Boxes highlighting client/family education communications and tables listing important topics for discussion including client/family education Case studies and exercises designed to stimulate critical thinking Davis Edge Thousands of NCLEX-style questions aligned to Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing with page references Comprehensive rationales for both correct and incorrect answers to promote in-depth understanding and to help students understand the logic behind each question. Test-taking tips to help prepare students for exams and reduces their anxieties Alternate-format questions that build students' confidence for these more difficult types of questions, including select all that apply (SATA), prioritization and ordered response Responsive design that allows access from laptop, tablet, and mobile devices
Provides full text for more than 1300 nursing and allied health journals.
Provides a collection of Evidence Based Care Sheets; look for the link in the blue navigation bar at the top of the CINAHL search screen.
Includes limiters for searching Evidence Based Practice research articles.
Provides full text for more than 500 nursing and allied health journals.
Includes subject limiters for searching Evidence Based Practice research articles.
Learn how to search for EBP articles in Gale:
