Skip to main content

ENG 089/100/102 Henrietta Lacks Project, Allegheny: Library Databases

This guide provides resources for research projects related to The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

Search Terms

Some search terms to consider:

 

     Henrietta Lacks, HeLa
     human tissue, human cells, biological material, organ
     ethics, bioethics, moral
     informed consent, law, legal, legislation
     pay, purchase, compensate
     studies, research 
     medical, biomedical
     mental illness attitudes
 

Suggested Databases

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Contains an online library of current event topics; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Provided by Gale.
Show me how

Some search terms to consider for this database:

Henrietta Lacks

human biological material

human tissue bioethics

Credo Reference

Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. Provides access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular reference sources. Provided by Credo.
Show me how

Some search terms to consider for this database:

informed consent

human tissue legislation

medical experimentation human

Health & Wellness Resource Center

Offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Show me how

Some search terms to consider for this database:

Henrietta Lacks

HeLa

Student Resources In Context

Provides information on a wide array of subjects; includes updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Some search terms to consider for this database:

human biological material

use of human tissue ethics

HeLa moral

MasterFILE Premier

Provides full text for nearly 1,750 publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of 440,207 photos, maps & flags. Provided by EBSCOhost.

Some search terms to consider for this database:

mental Illness attitudes

CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2018