Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reading & Critiquing Research Articles
The articles below provide tips for reading and critiquing science and medical journal articles.
Nursing Research Critiques
This ebook provides nursing students with a step-by-step guide to critically analyze evidence from research studies. The introduction
provides an overview of the critique template that is applied throughout the book. The remainder of the text includes reprints of quantitative
studies followed by a critique of each.
Use the links below to see an example article and its corresponding critique.
This video explains how to identify components of scholarly articles so that you can navigate them more efficiently.
Recommended Science & Medicine Database
The premium research databases listed below allow you to access millions of articles from reputable publications such as science and medical journals and encyclopedias. You can save, print, email, and generate citations for documents in these databases.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from biomedical and health journals in PubMed.
Science Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Find academic journals and magazines for science and related disciplines.
Additional Nursing Resources from CCAC Library
Limiting Your Search
Consider limiting results:
- peer-reviewed (usually on initial search page or in advanced search)
- source or document type (such as academic journal article)
- publication date
Text-to-Speech and Other Accessibility Features in Medline and Science Full Text Select
Conduct a search in Medline or Science Full Text Select. In your search results, click on HTML Full Text under the article description. Click on the Listen (speak) icon at the top of the article. For more information, on the Text-to-Speech feature and other tools that enhance accessibility in EbscoHost databases, click here.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021