Skip to Main Content

ENG, Chester, Boyce: Library Resources

This guide will assist with your research in your English class.

The Librarians are here to help you with your research. Check out the tools in this Course Guide to get you started.

Using Databases Instead of a Search Engine

Florida State College at Jacksonville

What are scholarly sources?

The publication should be a scholarly journal not a newspaper or popular magazine.
The authors are scholars or professionals in the field and are normally affiliated with an educational institution or organization.
The article should have an abstract, citations and reference list.
Look for a phrases like “this study examines…” or “we did research to find…”
Articles are lengthy with few pictures.
Does not include any advertisements.

Vanderbilt University

CORI: Explore Source Types
Click here for more in-depth information using the CORI modules.

Image: Spence School Libraries

Recommended Databases to Start Your Research

CORI: Choosing a database
Click here for more in-depth information using the CORI modules.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts, transcripts and videos from reputable news sources.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for more than 8500 journals, including full text for more than 7300 peer-reviewed titles. Includes PDF backfiles to 1887 for many publications. Provided by EBSCOhost.

Psychology: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Psychology Gale OneFile provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides topical articles, about 15 - 20 pages long, on social issues; articles include an overview, background information, the current situation concerning the issue, an outlook on possible developments, a special focus, chronology of related events, and pro and con section, and an annotated bibliography. Provided by CQ Press.

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies provides more than 900 timely, in-depth, and objective articles, exploring controversial issues and topics. Provided by FactsOnFile.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains an online library of current event topics; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Provided by Gale.

New York Times: NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
NYTimes.com covers a variety of topics with unsurpassed quality and depth through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. Create an account for full unlimited access to NYTimes.com. Create Account | LogIn | Help & FAQs

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the Post-Gazette & the Tribune Review. Provided by EBSCOhost.

Search Tips

Use SIMPLE KEYWORDS in search boxes:

child welfare and poverty
child development and nutrition
infants and trauma
kindergarten and exercise
child abuse and ptsd

Use LIMITERS to narrow the results.

CORI: Narrow Your Topic
Click here for more in-depth information using the CORI modules.

CORI: Search Techniques
Click here for more in-depth information using the CORI modules.

CORI: Searching in Databases
Click here for more in-depth information using the CORI modules.

Lori Cunningham

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian
Boyce Campus, N411
ecunningham@ccac.edu

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian
Boyce Campus, N410
kwirt@ccac.edu

CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021