Accounting

- used at CCAC - includes homework system - includes assessments - includes slides - includes lab manual

Textbooks

OpenStax Course Materials for Accounting
OpenStax is part of Rice University and has adapted and updated the best practices of traditional publishing to create and deliver free, high-quality, peer-reviewed textbooks. Free OpenStax resources include electronic textbooks, nonautomated assignments and assessment banks, Blackboard packages, PowerPoint slides and more. Low cost instructor resources from OpenStax Technology Partners, such as WebAssign, include automated homework and assessment systems, virtual labs and other learning resources.

OpenStax Principles of Accounting I Financial Accounting
Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors. Free OpenStax resources include an electronic textbook, PowerPoint slides, a Blackboard package, and more. Low cost instructor resources from OpenStax Technology partners include automated homework and assessment system. Consider for ACC 104.
OpenStax Principles of Accounting II Managerial Accounting
Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields. Free OpenStax resources include an electronic textbook, PowerPoint slides, a Blackboard package, and more. Low cost instructor resources from OpenStax Technology partners include automated homework and assessment system. Consider for ACC 203.
Lumen Waymaker Accounting for Managers
In Accounting for Managers, students learn the basic accounting principles needed to effectively make business decisions as a manager. The course begins with a review of basic math and accounting principles, ensuring students are prepared for the material that follows. Students will learn how to make financial decisions, including decisions around budgeting, financial statements, and cost and profit analysis. Free Lumen resources include high quality, openly licensed electronic textbooks nonautomated assigments and test/quiz banks, instructor slide decks, and more. Low cost Waymaker packages cost less than $40 per student and include the free Lumen Learning resources, automated assignments and assessments, online problem sets, interactive learning activities, tools to improve faculty-student connections, and Blackboard packages.
Curated List: LibreTexts Accounting Bookshelf
The LibreTexts Accounting Bookshelf contains a collection of textbooks curated by the LibreTexts Development team including Introduction to Financial Accounting (Dauderis and Annand), Principles of Financial Accounting (Jonick), Principles of Managerial Accounting (Jonick), and much more.
Accounting Titles in the Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network based in the Center for Open Education in the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development. Many resources include faculty reviews, using a 10-point rubric.
Accounting Textbooks in the Merlot Library
Merlot searches a comprehensive library of online learning and support materials, many with faculty and user reviews.
Introduction to Financial Accounting: International Financial Reporting Standards (BCcampus)
Introduction to Financial Accounting, originally by D. Annand and H. Dauderis, is intended for a first course in introductory financial accounting. It has been extensively edited by Athabasca University and reflects current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS). A corporate approach is utilized versus beginning with a sole proprietorship emphasis and then converting to a corporate approach. The textbook focuses on core introductory financial accounting topics that match pre-requisite requirements for students advancing to Intermediate Financial Accounting. Excluded are advanced topics that are covered in Intermediate Financial Accounting, such as leases and bond amortization. The textbook covers all essential topics, including: the accounting cycle; merchandising; assigning costs to inventory; cash and receivables; property, plant and equipment; debt financing; equity financing; statement of cash flows; financial statement analysis; and proprietorships and partnerships.

Course Materials

WISC Onlilne - The Accounting Cycle
A Wisconsin Online interactive. Learners examine the 10 steps of the accounting cycle. The cycle begins with the analysis of source documents and ends with the post-closing trial balance and interpreting the financial information.
Debit/Credit Flashcards - Drill and Practice for Principles of Financial Accounting
For instructors who foster the traditional approach to teaching principles of financial accounting, these 25 interactive PowerPoint flashcards allow students to practice drilling the rules of debits and credits.