Criminal Justice

- used at CCAC - includes homework system - includes assessments - includes slides - includes lab manual

Textbooks

Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System
From the authors: "We made it as comprehensive as possible to cover core concepts and areas in the criminal justice system including theory, policing, courts, corrections, and the juvenile justice system. Additionally, we created examples that will help make difficult concepts or ideas more relatable. Every section provides an overview of key terms, critical thinking questions for course engagement, assignments, and other ancillaries such as multimedia links, images, activity ideas, and more."Read reviews of this title in the Open Textbook Library. Used in CJC 101.
Fundamentals of Juvenile Justice
The juvenile justice system is a complex and multifaceted entity designed to address the unique needs of young offenders who have entered the legal system. This introductory section lays the foundation for understanding the historical evolution, philosophical underpinnings, key principles, community roles, and comparative aspects of juvenile justice systems around the world. To be used in CJC 124.
Introduction to Criminal Law
Criminal Law uses a two-step process to augment learning, called the applied approach. First, after building a strong foundation from scratch, Criminal Law introduces you to crimes and defenses that have been broken down into separate components. The second step of the applied approach is reviewing examples of the application of law to facts after dissecting and analyzing each legal concept. Used in CJC 151.
Ethics in Law Enforcement
This book examines the moral and ethical issues that exist within law enforcement. It also touches on the basic history, principles and theories of ethics. Used in Greg Joyce's CJC 152 class.
Introduction to Criminology
This textbook provides an overview of the three components of the Criminal Justice System: Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections. Consider for CJC 207.

Merlot Criminal Justice Community Portal
MERLOT Criminal Justice Portal, is an educational resource for teaching and learning. Use this portal to discover online learning materials, MERLOT members, journals, professional organizations, and news in your discipline.

Curated Lists:

CA Community Colleges Administration of Justice Resources
The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) OER Initiative (OERI) Discipline Leads provide curated lists of resources in these subject areas: Introduction to Criminal Justice, Concepts of Criminal Law, Criminal Court Process, Legal Aspects of Evidence, Criminal Investigation, and Introduction to Corrections.
LibreTexts Workforce Corrections and Criminal Justice Textbooks
The LibreTexts Corrections and Criminal Justice Workforce collection contains textbooks curated by the LibreTexts Development team including Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System (Burke et al.) and Ethics in Law Enforcement (McCartney and Parent). These are LibreTexts versions of the texts listed above. Other titlles in this collection include Introduction to Corrections (Wymore and Raber), Introduction to Criminal Investigation - Processes, Practices and Thinking (Gehl and Plecas), and Community and the Justice System (Wymore and Raber). LibreTexts Workforce is supported by the U.S. Department of Education.
Green River College OER & Free or Low-Cost Resources for Criminal Justice & Law
OER used at Green River College include, in addition to other widely used texts above, Federal Rules & Criminal Procedures, Criminal Justice: An Overview of the System, and Fundamental Cases in Criminal Justice.
University of Texas at San Antonio OER for Criminology and Criminal Justice
OER including textbooks, instructor resources, and videos for Criminology and Criminal Justice courses.

Images & Videos

TED - Criminal Justice Playlists
TED Talks from experts on criminal justice topics.