OER - Discipline

This set of macroeconomics course materials prepares students to apply economic thinking and analysis in the context of national economies, monetary and fiscal policy, and variables and indicators of macroeconomic health. Students will learn about the key macroeconomic indicators of GDP, unemployment, and inflation, then how to apply these concepts to analyze economic policy and behavior. Content coverage includes choice and scarcity; supply and demand; elasticity; applications of supply and demand; elasticity; GDP and economic growth; unemployment and inflation; the aggregate demand-aggregate supply model; Keynesian economics and neoclassical economics; the income-expenditure model; fiscal policy; money and banking; monetary policy; policy applications; globalization and trade; exchange rates and international finance. See Lumen Learning & Waymaker, Course Materials for Business & Economics above for a list of free Lumen & low cost Waymaker instructor resources, including automated assignments and assessments from Waymaker. Used in ECO 102.

This course provides a strong foundation in microeconomic theory, whether preparing for further study in economics, the social sciences, business, or other disciplines. Designed to help students think like economists, course materials use engaging, real-world examples to explore how individuals and firms make economic choices. Key topics include supply and demand, elasticity, utility, production and costs, and an analysis of types of markets: perfect competition, monopoly, monopolistic competition, and oligopoly. Content coverage also includes public goods and externalities, labor markets, income distribution, globalization and trade, and exchange rates and international finance. An orientation module helps students refresh skills around modeling, graphing, and algebra for economic problem-solving. See Lumen Learning & Waymaker, Course Materials for Business & Economics above for a list of free Lumen & low cost Waymaker instructor resources, including automated assignments and assessments from Waymaker. Used in ECO 103.

This course teaches students how to think as managers and actively manage organizations and teams using effective practices around planning, decision making, organizational structure, culture, leadership, motivation, and communication. See Lumen Learning & Waymaker, Course Materials for Business & Economics above for a list of free Lumen & low cost Waymaker instructor resources, including automated assignments and assessments from Waymaker. Consider for BUS 103.

In Business Communication Skills for Managers, students learn how to communicate effectively in business, with an emphasis on the use of these skills managing teams and organizations. The course covers the essentials of communication including professional writing, visual aids, presentations, speeches, phone and online communication, and both getting hired and finding new hires. See Lumen Learning & Waymaker, Course Materials for Business & Economics above for a list of free Lumen & low cost Waymaker instructor resources, including automated assignments and assessments from Waymaker. Consider for BUS 130.

In this course, students are introduced to the field of human resources management and learn about the legal and social implications of managing employees. Students will learn strategies to plan, recruit, compensate, develop, and engage a company’s workforce. The course covers additional topics including unions, employee safety, corporate social responsibility, global HRM, and small business HRM. See Lumen Learning & Waymaker, Course Materials for Business & Economics above for a list of free Lumen& low cost Waymaker instructor resources, including automated assignments and assessments from Waymaker.

In this course, students are introduced to the field of organizational behavior and learn how to analyze the impact human behaviors have on an organization. Students will also learn strategies to influence the behaviors of individuals to improve an organization. The course covers topics from individual and organizational differences, to motivation and stress, to management and organizational structure. See Lumen Learning & Waymaker, Course Materials for Business & Economics above for a list of free Lumen & low cost Waymaker instructor resources, including automated assignments and assessments from Waymaker.

This Retail Management course was developed to align with the Western Association of Food Chains (WAFC) learning outcomes for their Retail Management Certificate. It is intended to be a capstone course and covers various aspects of retail management and store operations including merchandising, operations, layout, store organization, site location, and customer service. See Lumen Learning & Waymaker, Course Materials for Business & Economics above for a list of free Lumen & low cost Waymaker instructor resources, including automated assignments and assessments from Waymaker. Consider for BUS 210.

This book provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Introduction to Business includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals. Free OpenStax resources include an electronic textbook, a full course shell, test/quiz banks, PowerPoint slides, a Blackboard package, and more. Low cost instructor resources from OpenStax Technology partners include automated homework and assessment systems. Consider for BUS 101.

Principles of Management is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the introductory course on management. This is a traditional approach to management using the leading, planning, organizing, and controlling approach. Management is a broad business discipline, and the Principles of Management course covers many management areas such as human resource management and strategic management, as well as behavioral areas such as motivation. Free OpenStax resources inclue an electronic textbook, test/quiz banks, PowerPoint slides, a Blackboard package, and more. Low cost instructor resources from OpenStax Technology Partners include automated homework and assessment systems. Consider for BUS 103.

Principles of Marketing is designed to meet the scope and sequence for a one-semester marketing course for undergraduate business majors and minors. Principles of Marketing provides a solid grounding in the core concepts and frameworks of marketing theory and analysis so that business students interested in a major or minor in marketing will also be prepared for more rigorous, upper-level elective courses. Free OpenStax resources inclue an electronic textbook, test/quiz banks, PowerPoint slides, a Blackboard package, and more. Low cost instructor resources from OpenStax Technology Partners include automated homework and assessment systems. Consider for BUS 104.

Principles of Finance provides a strong foundation in financial applications using an innovative use-case approach to explore their role in business decision-making. An array of financial calculator and downloadable Microsoft Excel data exercises also engage students in experiential learning throughout. Free OpenStax resources inclue an electronic textbook, test/quiz banks, PowerPoint slides, a Blackboard package, and more. Low cost instructor resources from OpenStax Technology Partners include automated homework and assessment systems. Consider for BUS 108.

Introductory Business Statistics 2e aligns with the topics and objectives of the typical one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Free OpenStax resources inclue an electronic textbook, PowerPoint slides and an instructor answer guide. A Full Course Site from Saylor includes automated homework and assessments. Consider for BUS 122.

This OpenStax resource aligns to introductory courses in Organizational Behavior. The text presents the theory, concepts, and applications with particular emphasis on the impact that individuals and groups can have on organizational performance and culture. An array of recurring features engages students in entrepreneurial thinking, managing change, using tools/technology, and responsible management. Free OpenStax resources inclue an electronic textbook, test/quiz banks, PowerPoint slides, a Blackboard package, and more. Low cost instructor resources from OpenStax Technology Partners include automated homework and assessment systems.

This textbook is intended for use in introductory Entrepreneurship classes at the undergraduate level. Due to the wide range of audiences and course approaches, the book is designed to be as flexible as possible. Theoretical and practical aspects are presented in a balanced manner, and specific components such as the business plan are provided in multiple formats. Free OpenStax resources inclue an electronic textbook, test/quiz banks, PowerPoint slides, a Blackboard package, and more. Low cost instructor resources from OpenStax Technology Partners include automated homework and assessment systems.

Business Law I Essentials is a brief introductory textbook designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of courses on Business Law or the Legal Environment of Business. This textbook may need to be supplemented with additional content, cases, or related materials, and is offered as a foundational resource that focuses on the baseline concepts, issues, and approaches. Free OpenStax resources inclue an electronic textbook, a Blackboard package and an instructor answer guide.

This Personal Finance textbook, provided by Achieving the Dream, includes personal budgeting and balance sheets, credit reports, taxes, housing, vehicles, insurance, investment, banking, retirement, estate planning, living within your means and the cost of collge. Assignments and discussions available from Achieving the Dream. Consider for BUS 110. See the LibreTexts version below.

Since our 10th Anniversary Edition of eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Marketing in a Digital World, we have witnessed a global wave of change that has had an undeniable impact on how we live, connect, and communicate worldwide. With this in mind, we are incredibly proud to present the 7th Edition of our textbook.