all images found in EBSCOhost's Image Collection
American Journal of Occupational Therapy
AJOT: American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Article Databases
The research databases below contain thousands of articles in hundreds of nursing, allied health and medical journals.
OneSearch
OneSearch will give you results from our 100+ databases - all subjects, all formats.
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
 |
Scholarly Article Tips
from Vanderbilt University
Is it scholarly?
The publication should be a scholarly journal not a newspaper or popular magazine.
The authors are scholars or professionals in the field and are normally affiliated with an educational institution or organization.
The article should have an abstract and reference list.
Clues from the abstract or text?
Look for a phrases like “this study examines…” or “we did research to find…”
This indicates that the author(s) conducted the research.
A review of the abstract and text of an article will provide important information of assistance in identifying it as a research article.
eBooks: Overviews & Anatomy
Harvard Medical School Health Topics A-Z
In-depth descriptions of the most common diseases, symptoms, procedures, and tests written by Harvard Medical School faculty members.
Magill's Medical Guide
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format.
Principles of Anatomy by
This edition includes 172 entries arranged in A to Z order to help make finding a topic of interest easy. Entries related to basic principles and concepts include Fields of Study related to the topic; an Abstract that provides a brief, concrete summary of the topic; Key Concepts important to a proper understanding of the topic; a detailed Essay that gives an explanation of the background and significance.
eBooks: OT
The titles below are just a sample of the OT eBooks available. You can search the full EBSCO eBook collection for others on any skill based topic, like crafts, gardening, or cooking or care.
Foundations of Pediatric Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant by
Foundations of Pediatric Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant, Second Edition delivers essential information for occupational therapy assistant students and practitioners in a succinct and straightforward format. In collaboration with a wide range of highly skilled and expert professionals from clinical practice and academia, Amy Wagenfeld, Jennifer Kaldenberg, and DeLana Honaker present an interprofessional perspective to pediatric clinical foundations, theory, and practical application activities in a highly accessible and engaging format. The Second Edition of Foundations of Pediatric Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant offers new and engaging features, including diverse illustrations, to facilitate learning from the classroom to the clinic. Integrated within each chapter are Stories From Practice: brief vignettes of actual author clinical experiences, short case studies, and reflective activities designed to elicit discussion and exploration into the unique world of pediatric occupational therapy theory and practice. A new chapter on childhood trauma has been added to enhance the comprehensive and current nature of pediatric practice in the 21st century. Available online is a significant Major Infant Reflexes Chart and a comprehensive Normal Developmental Milestones Chart that will reinforce important concepts associated with child development as it relates to occupational therapy assistant practice. The seamless integration of this material enables all readers to develop a comprehensive understanding of the information and apply that knowledge in a pediatric setting. Features of the Second Edition: Up-to-date information, including the AOTA's current Occupational TherapyCode of Ethics Stories From Practice feature, which provides a unique reflective link from classroom to clinic Useful resources for classroom to clinical practice Bonus website that provides a comprehensive Normal Developmental Milestones Chart and Major Infants Reflexes Chart Chapter on childhood trauma Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Foundations of Pediatric Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant, Second Edition continues to be the perfect text for both occupational therapy assistant students and practitioners specializing in or transitioning to pediatrics.
1001 Pediatric Treatment Activities by
A quick and simple reference handbook for pediatric clinicians looking for new ideas for a therapy session.
Introduction to Occupational Therapy by
Content examines OT practice - from client evaluation to planning interventions and goals to reaching optimal outcomes. You will also learn valuable skills in clinical reasoning and in providing occupational therapy across the client's lifespan.
Creativity in Occupational Therapy by
Understood differently by different people, creativity has been linked to novelty, originality, problem-solving, flexibility, resourcefulness, self-expression, and health maintenance. In this manuscript, creativity is explored through the eyes of an occupational therapist. The author approaches creativity from two angles; as a therapeutic modality and as a way of thinking. The manuscript offers a thorough literature review of creativity and its connections to occupational therapy theory and practice. It brings a historical overview spanning from the days of the Arts and Crafts Movement to contemporary approaches in occupational therapy. Not only is the relevant research gathered and evaluated, but the reader can also find practical applications of research findings to practice. For instance, we learn about the factors that can contribute to the creativity of occupational therapists and how to best foster them in a modern work environment. The author also explores some of the concepts related to the well-being of occupational therapists, such as work satisfaction and work autonomy and their correlations to creativity. The manuscript also presents a novel assessment tool, developed and validated by the author - the Creativity in Occupational Therapy Questionnaire (COTQ) - which is intended for the study of creativity and educational purposes. This manuscript is a must-read for anyone interested in the use of creativity in health care and the evidence behind it. It offers up-to-date information on the subject of creativity in occupational therapy. However, its influence goes beyond a specific discipline. It argues that creativity can be a healing force, for both the client and the therapist, and that we should do more to nurture it in our lives and at work.
The Essential Guide for Newly-Qualified Occupational Therapists by
Starting out in practice can be difficult and confusing. This guide for newly qualified occupational therapists provides an authoritative overview of what to expect in your role and work settings, and is full of practical guidance on how to make a good start to a successful practice. With chapters by experienced practitioners in the field, it offers insights into work in paediatrics, mental health, learning disability and the acute hospital setting. Vital information is also included on difficult aspects of practice such as legislation and data protection. It signposts sources for support and resources for furthering techniques in individual areas of work. Most importantly, the book offers tips for managing a busy workload, while building the positive relationships and resilience needed for a successful career in the occupational therapy.
Occupational Therapy Practice Guidelines for Adults with Traumatic Brain Injury by
Provides an overview of the occupational therapy process for adults with traumatic brain injury, including definition, epidemiology, stages of recovery, referral, evaluation, and interventions throughout the various recover phases. This publication is designed to help occupational therapists understand the contribution of occupational therapy in treating adults with TBI.
Home Health Care by
This text was written by occupational therapy practitioners for occupational therapy practitioners, but it also provides a resource for other stakeholders, such as home health agencies, who wish to know what to expect from occupational therapy practitioners in the home health setting. It borrows extensively from government sources and documents.
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
AnatomyTV
Films On Demand
Films On Demand has a strong streaming video collection that supports the career of an occupational therapist assistant as well as videos that supplement course work.
