Learning Objectives
After completing this module, you will be able to:
Correctly construct citations in the Chicago format
Correctly build a Bibliography page for your research
Identify the difference between notes and bibliography citations and explain where they should be used
Click each item's “Access” button to open and view it in a new window. If you are off-campus, you will be taken to the CCAC login page to sign in.
Tutorials will have navigation links across the top that you will use to advance through the pages. They
will look similar to this:
After completing the tutorial, close the browser tab or window to return back to this page.
Chicago style is sometimes used for history and the humanities. Chicago style uses superscript numbers within the text to refer readers to corresponding footnotes at the end of the page. A bibliography is generally required as well.
Western Michigan University Libraries: Chicago Manual of Style Citations Video Tutorial
Many of the Library Databases provide Citation assistance for the articles. In the Tools area located on the Detailed Record page and the Article page, look for features like "Cite" or "Cite Now!
Do a final check to make certain that the citation has correct formatting, punctuation and content!
NoodleTools is an online tool for creating works cited lists. Use it with MLA, APA, or Chicago styles. It helps you create your citations, and generates your bibliography. Create folders and store citations for multiple projects.
CCAC provides NoodleTools to current students, faculty and staff. Email library@ccac.edu if you have any questions. Show me how
Chicago Style - Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Includes resources to help you learn about formatting papers, end notes and bibliographies.
